Dannie, Are You With Me? Pushing Me, Pushing Me, Pushing Me …!

whilwindA force pressing against my back

Yet leading from my front as well

A whirlwind of spiritual urgency

Like an alarm clock as a church bell

 

Waking me up early most every morning

Keeping me awake late many nights

Setting aside other preoccupations

For the priorities that are in my sights

 

Holy Man Dannie

My eldest brother Dannie McBrayer

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

 

My eldest brother’s earthly life was ended

Suddenly, violently with tragic woe

Snatched from the vault of my favorite familiars

Leaving my soul pummeled from the blow

 

Kwabena as Dannie

Me looking like Dannie

I … miss … him

My other part, my uncertain twin

The sameness of our facial feature

Compared nothing to our unity within

 

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

 

Sadness and mourning still does haunt me

Lurking around corners, thug in an alley

I am not yet safe from pain in my heart

And the deep loneliness that I still carry

 

oar in the riverAll the while though, there is something good

Something so steady and sure

When I feel ravaged in the river of life

I find at my center a steady, familiar oar

 

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

 

I’ve known his prescient presence all my life

Schooling me on what challenges will come

My rites of passage was a one man show

Adding to my growth until adulthood was the sum

 

Dannie @ peace

Dannie is his adopted city of Dallas TX

Now waging the deciding battles of my time

Determining what shall be, will be, or not

This sibling of supreme allegiance and love

Is still fighting by my side after his war is fought

 

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

 

Always having been a protector in my youth

Whether by force or wisdom to me distilled

I was forever watched over, steadily guarded

And I do believe Dannie fights for me still

 

opportunity knockerI feel him lifting and shoving barriers out of my way

Or bringing opportunities knocking to the door

He is both brute of strength and essence of honey

His legendary wit and charm lasts with most evermore

 

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

Dannie, are you with me?

Pushing me, pushing me, pushing me …!

 

If you wonder why I cannot, will not stop

These words are to unravel the riddle

It is not me alone that is riding this magic carpet

I have a co-pilot steering things right from the middle

 

risk aheadLike many good brothers turned father before him

Dannie taught me how to drive an automobile

“Focus on the center, rather than threats on the side”

Lessons of steering through life taught behind a wheel

3 thoughts on “Dannie, Are You With Me? Pushing Me, Pushing Me, Pushing Me …!

Leave a Reply

